Faith, Hope, and Love Remain

Alei's adventures in Ukraine

Happy Thanksgiving November 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aleicook @ 6:59 pm

I know I’m a day late, but Happy Thanksgiving 🙂  I’m currently grateful to be in Kyiv again reading wonderful emails and messages from you all.  You have no idea how much they all mean in managing to shrink that Atlantic Ocean.

My day yesterday was far from traditional celebration (as it involved skewers of cheese, olives, and pineapple wedges for appetizers, cabbage leaves stuffed with onions and carrots, dipped in flour & egg & fried in animal fat of some sort instead of turkey, and cake w/sour cream & ‘brown milk’ frosting) but even from a thousand miles away there’s a lot to be thankful for.

First of all, decaf coffee and its implications.  My family knows that I like coffee in the mornings but don’t drink it at night during our abundant tea breaks due to caffeine (explaining that was a big victory early in the training).  So yesterday when it came time for cookies & chocolate imagine my surprise to have kava BEZ caffeine handed my way.  Finding coffee was miracle enough in Morozivka so I can’t even imagine where she found such a decaf treat.  Yet another example of how cute/caring they are & now I can savor the chocolate melting in hot coffee phenomenon at any hour.  Lovely.

We also were able to get back in the classroom this week & I was relieved to be reminded of why I’m here & how fun it can be.  I taught 3rd & 4th formers today & they couldn’t be cuter.  (I posted some pictures of them on Flickr).  They’re attentive & smiley & young enough that they participate & want to learn.  It was really reassuring to see them learn & have our lesson sink in with them.  So fun.  Sadly we only have a few more sessions with them but it paints an optimistic picture of the next two years.

Other good news- I was finally shown how to properly use a squat toilet.  This may qualify as an overshare but I feel that it was a life-changing demonstration & is certainly grounds for thanks.  Now I won’t have to worry about ruining my shoes and will hopefully have sweet quad muscles by the end of service.

All good things, huh?  And now it’s the Christmas season, my favorite.  On that note I’m off to download some Christmas music while I have internet.  Have some hot chocolate for me!

 

 

2 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving”

  1. tricia klein Says:

    Hi Alei, I am sure you heard by now CG STATE CHAMPS!! The town is very excited off to the pep rally later. You mentioned that
    Emily got a care package. Can we send you one? Have a great
    week be safe!
    Love,
    Mrs Klein

  2. Nicole Says:

    Happy very very belated Thanksgiving Al! I love the things you’re thankful for. I don’t know if your family does this, but on my dad’s side we usually go around & say what we’re thankful for. Usually I try to get a laugh out of the masses with something deviating from the norm, as the little kids usually pick the obvious family & friend answers. You, however, would totally kick my ass at this game subsequently claiming all laughs & smiles. 🙂

    Missing you like crazy this holiday season. It’s weird enough that I don’t get to decorate a tree with you for the first time in 3 years, let alone not see you! But play some Mariah Carey Christmas these next couple of days. I’ll be doing the same & thinking of you!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

