Faith, Hope, and Love Remain

Alei's adventures in Ukraine

Weird Things I Have Seen Involving Chickens October 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — aleicook @ 5:09 pm

Sadly yes, there’s enough content on this subject to fill a blog post. 

  • On the most basic level, it never stops being weird making weaving around the chickens a priority as I leave my house for school in the mornings.  Or to be eye level with one while doing my homework outside.  Or waking up to their squawks. 
  • A slaughter that I inadvertently witnessed while stepping outside to have better phone coverage.  I saw my cute little Ukrainian Mom with her hands around the neck of a chicken before I shut my eyes and attempted to inconspicuously cover my ears.   When I finished my call & went inside…plucked & headless chicken in a bucket of hot water.
  • Chicken feet (surprisingly large) sticking out of my refrigerator.  I assume it was connected to the rest of the previously mentioned chicken but I didn’t really care to find out.
  • A cute stray dog (one of the 50 that roam the street) playing with some sort of chicken part.  Again, ignorance is bliss.
  • A bucket full of chicken heads being sold by the babusias at the train platform every morning. 

Needless to say, temporary vegetarianism was by far the best decision I’ve made in a while.

Not much else thrilling to report here.  Our kids have off for fall break this week so we’ve had our Safety Training today & led a writing methodology workshop for Ukrainian teachers yesterday.  Apparently I’m qualified for such a task now that I’ve taught a whole 3 lessons.  Who knew 🙂  We also got our teaching assignments for the rest of training and I’ll be teaching 3, 4, & 5 forms (ages 7-11) 3x a week.  So cute. 

 Have a wonderful Halloween & please have some candy corn for me.

 

4 Responses to “Weird Things I Have Seen Involving Chickens”

  1. Jennifer Lyons Says:

    Alei …
    I am so glad to have found your blog. Mrs. Klein sent me the details on how to find it….
    Oh the adventures you are on and you’ve just begun. I do agree that being a vegetarian sounds like the best option right now. I am envious of all you are seeing and experiencing! I can’t wait to share this with the kids … they will learn so much through you!
    Stay healthy and safe.
    You are in our prayers.
    Jen

    PS – Casey is going to be a doctor for Halloween! He’s had his costume on non-stop since he’s gotten it. The entire family has had enough physicals by Dr. Casey to last a good long time.

  2. Maya Says:

    Hahahahaha. I gotta laugh at the chicken things that gross you out.

    Will you still be my friend if I told you I’ve feathered and gutted a chicken before? Maybe you can make that your goal before coming back… Then again, maybe not.

    I miss you and I LOVE your posts. They are hilarious. I wish I could join in on the adventure!

    Lots of love!

  3. Ashley Says:

    I’m glad you went the vegetarian route too because that post itself just about made me sick (so proud, you were probably inspired by me no?)

    Also, do you think you could adopt one of the stray dogs? (i probably shouldn’t be advocating this, but i think it’d be quite wonderful if you had a lovely pet) 🙂

    Good luck teaching. You’re a big girl now! (maybe you’re even out of pull ups). This post should probably be private huh? sorry alei.

    I’m the baby gotta love me (i am still in diapers well you’re running around in pull-ups).

    P.S. in case you want to know what’s going on here, i ate a loaf of bread from panera yesterday. the whole thing. thought of you the whole time. and I watched the best episode EVER of The Real Housewives of Atlanta. While you’re changing the world, you can see I’m also doing some pretty important things. ha!

    Can’t wait to read more! Miss you Aleigator!

  4. tricia klein Says:

    Alei,
    I look forward to each weeks update. I think even I would have to become a vegetarian after seeing that. Not sure what i would eat :). I will be sure to have a big bag of candy corn for you! You know that department is something you can count on me for. Trying to plan a dominos night around here, but with all the good sports around here this is hard to do. Matt and his team qualified for state in Cross Country so we are heading to Peoria next weekend and Mike is trying to find a ride to come cheer Matt and friends on. By the way I heard what you were for Halloween!! Stay healthy and safe.
    Love,
    Mrs Klein


Leave a Reply

